ADIDAS ‘All In’ Campaign

Last night I went to my first Sounders FC match & it was so dope! Since some of my European friends got me to watch the Euro Cup in ’08, I’m slowly becoming more & more of a soccer fan after 20+ years of not caring about the sport at all. So, in light of this & last night’s 2-0 Sounders victory, I’m gonna take a break from blabbing about my own work & focus on some work I’ve been admiring as of late.

The Adidas “All In” ad campaign has been rocking me! They’ve been utilizing a mix of cutting edge creativity & old fashion tricks to get viewers stoked! The first vid’ I wanna share is a 30 second MLS spot, which features a lot of Seattle & our incredible fan base, which I’m just now becoming a part of…

Next is a video I’d actually mentioned in a previous post. French phenom director Romain Gavras came out with this one early last year. Like most of the work I’ve seen from him, it packs a punch & gets you amped! The music, choice of shots, quick cuts & amplified real audio make me want to buy Adidas gear & brawl with the Green Street Hooligans.

Lastly, I wanted to showcase a piece that came out of Germany a few months ago… I once heard a song by NAS where he told a story in reverse. Though my appreciation for rap music’s been crumbling since the early 2000’s, the creativity of that song astounded me. It’s such a simple concept, but it was so awesome… I’ve wanted to see a story told using that same narrative structure on film. Though I’m not saying it’s never been done before (“Momento” was similar), this is the first time I’d seen it, and it really excites me.

Side note, it’s funny how good video advertising has been increasingly appealing to me lately. I think it just speaks to the direction I’m heading in life. I sit & analyze how & why certain commercial video content is effective & I become a fan of the people who produce it. It’s a lot like how many people are with feature films (myself still included). So now, in addition to watching the Oscars, I’ll also be following what goes down at the Clio’s… Ha!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

